Thank you to everyone who sent in nominations for the 2022 Community Recognition Awards. The ceremony was held on Monday, May 30 at 7 p.m. and can be watched on the Town's YouTube channel for everyone to enjoy.

Congratulations to the 2022 Community Recognition Winners

  • Sam Saberi, Citizen on the Year

  • Michael Chen, Youth Volunteer Award
  • Jackie Catto, Senior Volunteer Award
  • Lissa Dwyer, Green Award
  • Linda Welch, Arts and Culture Award
  • Welcoming Arms, Community Leadership Award
  • Alma Durkin, Good Neighbour Award
  • Judy Brunton, Community Safety Award
  • Tina’s Grill, Good Business Award
  • Topper’s Pizza Aurora, Good Business Award
  • Aurora Black Community, Inclusivity Award
  • Rosalyn Gonsalves, Lifetime Achievement Award

The 2022 Lifetime Achievement Award winner Rosalyn Gonsalves has been a resident of Aurora for over 35 years. She has been an active volunteer in Aurora whether it be on parent councils, with the Aurora Optimist Club, the Rotary Club of Aurora, the Aurora Chamber of Commerce, the Canadian Cancer Society and many other organizations. She has been an integral part of the volunteer movement in Aurora.

She has contributed to many of the Town’s advisory panels throughout the years sharing her wealth of knowledge regarding the businesses in Aurora.

Rosalyn is an authentic, enthusiastic, and caring person who gives her all to everything she does.

Awards were also given out to volunteers in recognition of 20, 25, 30, 35, 40 and 45 years of volunteer service to the community.

The service award winners were:

  • 20 years: Barbara Barker, Terri and Wayne Briggs, William McCleery and Peter Thorman
  • 25 years: Mary Haberer
  • 30 years: Suzanne Charlebois-Bin
  • 35 years: Bob Cole
  • 40 years: Robert Kennedy
  • 45 years: Carol Preston and Deborah Simerson

View the 2022 Community Recognition Awards Program

Related Information

Thanks to our sponsors 

Print Graphics

Rotary Club Logo