The Town of Aurora's Citizen of the Year Award is an annual award recognizing the exceptional contributions made by a local citizen to our community. The Citizen of the Year Award has been awarded by the Town of Aurora since 1970. This individual is selected by the Office of the Mayor in consultation with a small group of dedicated community volunteers. 

This award recipient has demonstrated all-round community involvement rather than specific activity or contribution.

Congratulations to the 2020 Citizen of the Year

Tom Connor

The 2020 Citizen of the Year Award is Tom Connor. He has been a resident of Aurora since 1973 and has proudly raised his family in Aurora’s community. Tom has been a volunteer in Aurora for the past 40 years. Through his work in the local community, Tom has built a network of connections, neighbourhood resources and lifelong friends.

He is a devoted volunteer giving his time over the past four decades, to various organizations in Aurora such as the Aurora Minor Hockey Association, Aurora Youth Soccer, the Optimist Club of Aurora, the Town’s Committee of Adjustment, the Aurora Public Library Board and Martha’s Table.

Through his extensive volunteering with the hockey association, he recognized the need for a youth hockey program. In the early 1980s, he presented a proposal to the former Mayor Dick Illingworth about creating a recreational hockey program. He founded and grew this hockey program with the help of many volunteers.

Tom is an avid supporter of the Aurora Optimist Club. He served as a member for 25 years and was on the executive team as president and treasurer. For several years, he coordinated bingo, one of the largest fundraisers for the club. He is a member and current chair of the Aurora Public Library Board and has served on the board for more than 20 years. He is also a team lead for Martha’s Table and has diligently served community lunches out of St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church every Thursday. Tom’s compassion, dedication and commitment to Aurora is inspiring.

Past Citizen of the Year Award Winners
YearAward Winner
2019 Barb Allan
2018 Josie Kearney
2017 Peter van Schaik
2016 Mary Georgopoulos
2015 Diane Buchanan
2014 Beverley Wood
2013 Ron Wallace
2012 Brian North
2011 Jo-anne Spitzer
2010 Gordon Barnes
2009 David Tomlinson
2008 Susan Walmer
2007 Dorothy Clark-McClure 
2006 Sylvia Gilchrist
2005 Bud Gilbert
2004 Phil Horsman
2003 Dr. John McIntyre
2002 Bob Hartwell 
2001 Ken Smith
2000 Jackie Stubbs 
1999 Vic Priestly
1998 Ferguson Mobbs
1997 Gerry Payne
1996 Steve Hinder
1995 Susan Gwilliam 
1994 Dianne Harrison
1993 Wanda McKenzie 
1992 Jack DeGraaf
1991 Bucky McLarty
1990 Arnold Miller 
1989 Dick Illingworth
1988 Norm Stewart
1987 Nora McRoberts
1986 Fred Conklin
1985 Bill Coleman
1984 Lowell McClenny
1983 Dr. Leslie Oliver
1982 Vic Paraninfo
1981 Eric Smith
1980 Jack Williamson 
1979 Omar Khamissa
1978 Bill Dinsmore
1977 Fred Bolsby
1976 Dr. Crawford Rose
1975 Rev. Homer McAvoy 
1974 Jack Wood
1973 Don Glass
1972 J. E. (Dick) Buchanan
1971 Annebelle Black
1970      Bob Blick