COVID-19 Updates: Visit our COVID-19 webpage for full details and up-to-date information.


Play in the Park - Outdoor Play Workshops

Play in the park logo with tree and words play in the park 

The Town of Aurora is excited to launch another summer of Play in the Park! These play-based workshops are designed to provide the benefits of recreation in a safe, outdoor environment for children between the ages of 6 to 12 years. Each workshop is 2 hours in duration and provides an opportunity for participants to socialize, spend time outdoors, and safely play amongst their peers. Staff will facilitate group interaction through a variety of recreation focused games and activities that encourage play and can be done while maintaining physical distancing. For full details about our Summer Camps programs, please visit our Summer Camps webpage.

Pre-registration is required. Register online at e-PLAY

Registration Dates
Residents: Monday, June 7, 2021
Non-Residents: Monday, June 14, 2021

Play in the Park Information 

All workshops will take place outdoors at the Healthy Planet Sports Complex, located at Sheppard’s Bush. Please park in the south parking lot beside the soccer fields (entrance off Industrial Parkway South). Access to public washrooms will be available. 

Play in the Park workshops will be offered from July 5 to September 3. Workshops will take place on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays with morning or afternoon sessions. Morning programs will take place from 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. and afternoon programs will take place from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. No supervision will be provided between morning and afternoon programs. Activities and games will rotate each session/day and will encourage participants to develop their physical literacy skills while having fun.

If you child requires 1:1 support for Play in the Park programs, please email Chiara Walsh to determine if support is available. Support cannot be guaranteed and subject to staff availability.

Workshop Details 

Price: $8.00 per session

Location: Healthy Planet Sports Complex, located at Sheppard’s Bush (please park in south parking lot off Industrial Parkway South)

Age: 6 to 12 years

Duration: 2 hours

Time: 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. | 1 p.m. to 3 p.m.

Days: Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays

Note: Supervision will not be provided between program times (from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.).

What participants should bring: water, sunscreen, a towel/blanket to sit on  

Inclement Weather: In the case of inclement weather or extreme heat, the workshop will be cancelled and participates will be notified via email and refunded. 

July and August Workshops 

Play in the Park

Age: 6 to 12 years

Location: Sheppard’s Bush

Fee: $8.00 per program

Join us weekly on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays for this fun, safe and engaging daily outdoor play program.

Note: Supervision will not be provided between program times (from 11:30am to 1:00pm).

Play in the Park - July & August Workshops
Day9:30 AM - 11:30 AM1 PM - 3 PM

Tuesday, July 6

22755

22749

Wednesday, July 7

22756

22750

Thursday, July 8

22757

22751

Tuesday, July 13

22758

22752

Wednesday, July 14

22759

22753

Thursday, July 15

22760

22754

Tuesday, July 20

22150

22176

Wednesday, July 21

22151

22177

Thursday, July 22

22152

22178

Tuesday, July 27

22153

22179

Wednesday, July 28

22154

22180

Thursday, July 29

22155

22181

Tuesday, Aug 3

22156

22182

Wednesday, Aug 4

22157

22183

Thursday, Aug 5

22158

22184

Tuesday, Aug 10

22159

22185

Wednesday, Aug 11

22160

22186

Thursday, Aug 12

22161

22187

Tuesday, Aug 17

22162

22188

Wednesday, Aug 18

22163

22189

Thursday, Aug 19

22164

22190

Tuesday, Aug 24

22165

22191

Wednesday, Aug 25

22166

22192

Thursday, Aug 26

22167

22193

Tuesday, Aug 31

22168

22194

Wednesday, Sept 1

22169

22195

Thursday, Sept 2

22170

22196

 

What We Are Doing to Stay Safe

The Town of Aurora is excited to return to recreation in such a way that maintains safety of participants and staff. This remains a top priority. With this said, here are the measures being taken for the Play in the Park Workshops:

  • Maintaining small group sizes (8 participants max plus workshop staff).
  • Health Screenings in place for all staff, participants and parents/guardians upon arrival.
  • Physical distancing of a minimum of 2m will be enforced between participants, staff, etc. (with the exception of behaviour intervention or First Aid).
  • Masks will be required if participants and staff are within 2m of each other.
  • Hand sanitizing of participants, parents/guardians and staff upon entering the program.
  • Sanitization of supplies and equipment after use in every program.

Contact

Julie Stephenson
Community Programmer
905-727-3123 ext. 3121
Email Julie Stephenson

Chiara Walsh
Community Programmer
905-727-3123 ext. 3528
Email Chiara Walsh