In response to increasing COVID-19 cases across Ontario, the Province has declared a State of Emergency and has enacted a Stay-at-Home Order effective 12:01 a.m. Thursday, January 14, 2021 advising all Ontarians to stay home except for essential purposes. Additional restrictions under the State of Emergency and Stay-at-Home Order include: 

  • Outdoor gatherings limited to a total of 5 people
  • Non-essential retail stores have hours restricted to 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.; does not apply to stores primarily selling food, pharmacies, gas stations, convenience stores and restaurants for takeout or delivery
  • Non-essential construction is further restricted, including below-grade construction
  • Under declaration of provincial emergency, the Province will provide authority to all enforcement and provincial offences officers to issue tickets to individuals who do not comply with the Stay-at-Home Order, those not wearing a mask and those retail operators who do not enforce regulations
  • Enforcement and inspection blitz to commence for big-box stores
  • Schools in hot zones, including York Region, will not return to in-person learning until at least February 10, 2021

For more information and updates visit the Town of Aurora's COVID-19 webpage and the Region of York's COVID-19 webpage.