On Wednesday, August 12, 2020, the Ontario government, in partnership with the federal government, announced it is providing necessary funding to the 444 municipalities in Ontario, including the Town of Aurora. Aurora will receive $1,298,500 and the funds will be allocated to municipal pressures associated with the COVID-19 pandemic under the Safe Restart Agreement.

“I am pleased to announce that the province and the federal government, will be supporting the local municipalities in Ontario and providing funding to help alleviate municipal pressures associated with this pandemic. While the Town is in a good financial position, we are grateful to accept this funding and help provide some extra financial support for Aurora as we continue to move forward through this global health crisis,” says Aurora Mayor Tom Mrakas.

“The Safe Restart funding will help the Town of Aurora as we begin to bring back services to the community and provide relief for interest charged on the late payment of tax and water bills to residents and businesses facing financial hardship due to COVID-19. This added funding will help our Town, as we recognize the impact of COVID-19 will extend into 2021,” says Aurora Chief Administrative Officer, Doug Nadorozny.

In September, municipalities in Ontario will receive $695 million in Phase 1 funding for municipal operating pressures per household. Additional funding of up to $695 million will be available through Phase 2 for municipalities that have COVID-related financial impacts that exceed the initial per household allocation provided under Phase 1.

For more information on this funding announcement, please visit news.ontario.ca.