​​York Regional Council sets policies, direction and budgets for the Regional Municipality of York. The 21 member Council is composed of municipal Mayors and Regional Councillors. Mayor Geoffrey Dawe represents Aurora as a member of the York Regional Council.

Most of Council's work is accomplished through standing committees and task forces. These bodies receive input, review policies and consider staff reports, then recommend actions to Regional Council, which meets once a month. The major decisions of York Regional Council are captured in the York Region Council Highlights and are posted on York Region's webs​ite.

Links to more information:

York Region Website - Council Highlights



A to Z Services: